Hearing from the Holy Spirit (Part 1 of 5)

Every Christian who takes his or her Christianity seriously should expect to hear from the Holy Spirit. But what does that mean? Is it literal hearing? How does it happen?

Before I address any of this, I want to introduce to you the Hebrew name of the Holy Spirit. You’ve seen that I use the (transliterated) Hebrew names Yeshua and Yehovah / YHVH as well as the more typical Jesus and God. The transliterated Hebrew name of the Holy Spirit is Ruach haKodesh. This is pronounced ROO-ach HA-ko-DESH. As with many non-English languages, the adjective follows the noun. So Ruach haKodesh, very strictly translated, is Spirit the Holy.

The Ruach can speak to you in a variety of ways. For example, it can be words which you “hear” in your mind. It can be a strong sensation. It can be a very light sensation, what I characterize as a “tap on the shoulder.” The Ruach will use whatever method will best get your attention in the situation.

I have already written of several occasions in which I heard from Ruach haKodesh. I will now tell you of five incidents in which the Ruach spoke to me in very particular ways.

The Visitors
My doorbell rang. I opened my door to find two women standing on my porch. Turned out they were Jehovah’s Witnesses. One woman asked me something along the lines of, “Are you afraid of the terrible things that will be happening in the future?” “My” response to her was something like, “We’re not supposed to be afraid. The Bible tells us of these things specifically so that we won’t be afraid.”

From that point we conversed for a few minutes, until somehow the subject of the trinity came up. This upset her, and she stated that the word is not in Scripture. I responded that while the word isn’t in the Bible, the concept certainly is. As she and the other woman (who never spoke this whole time) turned and left, she said somewhat angrily over her shoulder, “Yeah, but the word isn’t!”

And that was that.

You may have noted that I mentioned “my” response. I am telling you this with complete honesty: it felt as if the words were coming from outside my head. No doubt the women saw my mouth move, heard the words come from my mouth. But to me the words were coming from just to the right of my head, as if someone were standing behind me, speaking the words just over my right shoulder. Which as far as I’m concerned is exactly what Ruach haKodesh was doing.

This for me is akin to what is said in Luke 12:11-12:

And when they bring you unto the synagogues, and unto magistrates, and powers, take ye no thought how or what thing ye shall answer, or what ye shall say: For the Holy Ghost shall teach you in the same hour what ye ought to say.

If you haven’t yet made Jesus your personal Savior, today – right now – is the best time to do so. You can ask Him in your own words, or use some version of the Sinner’s Prayer. Remember, Jesus – Yeshuaturns no-one away.

Part 2 of this series >>>


Please subscribe to this blog so you can receive new lessons via e-mail. Also, please follow me on Twitter. And please share this blog with your relatives and friends.

© 2022 Zero Faith Saint

3 thoughts on “Hearing from the Holy Spirit (Part 1 of 5)

  1. Dear Steve, A nice post and a good start to your 5 part series.   Mazel Tov! Blessings in Messiah, Steven L. ShermanFounder of “Just Pray NO!” https://justprayno.org/  Author of  “The Last Days Calendar” and”The Revelation of Jesus Christ”http://lastdayscalendar.net

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Specificity of God’s Faithfulness | Zero Faith Saint

  3. Pingback: Hearing from the Holy Spirit (Part 2 of 5) | Zero Faith Saint

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.